As the mother of two almost three teenage girls, I see the struggle of wanting to fit in. This is something Calvin and I have worked very hard to instill in our children, you aren't made to fit in you are made to stand out. From the time we were just a baby in our mothers womb. Jeremiah 1:5 Before I formed thee in the belly I knew thee: and before thou camest out of the womb I sanctified thee...  

    This world view is corrupting our children, and most parents, to have friends, to rise to the top, you must fit in. How sad, we dress our girls like the world, we teach our boys you must be crass and cool. All the while as young Christians they should be so different. Am I saying they need to carry around the family bible everywhere they go?? Am I saying they should dress with no style and be obnoxious to the world?? Not by any means. What I am saying is that when the world looks at them and us, they see we have something they don't have. Also, they see it in a way that makes them want it too.

    I want them to know that sometimes they are going to have to stand alone. I also am giving them the upbringing to know how. Is it going to be easy, no. Is it going to be fun, no. At times is it going to be downright painful, yes!! But in the end will it be worth it?? Yes, Yes and a thousand times yes!!! 

    I want them to see beyond today, beyond highschool,. They often get tired of the phrase I use "It's temporal". My point is to say that all this we worry about, will one day go away. But who we are and what we do with Jesus is all that will matter. I want them to be the light, I want them to be the city set on a hill that wont be hid!!

As Dr  Suess said "why try to fit in when you were born to stand out"

I like the words in this song- " you were made to fill a purpose that only you can do, there could never be a more beautiful you!!
1/5/2014 06:19:46 am

Beautifully written!

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Author

     Wife and Mother! CEO of the Luckett family. Striving daily to honor God with my life and actions.




    Picture
    My five gifts God graciously gave me.

    Archives

    January 2014
    December 2013

    Categories

    All